A Few More Rulings Questions . . .

Q – RP6, Result 3. Center snap hits QB’s helmet and ricochets into the arms of the HB who is immediately tackled for 3 yd loss.

A – Believe it or not, if that ball never hit the ground before the halfback caught it, it will be one rushing attempt for the halfback for -3 yards!

 

Q – RP7, Result 4: QB can’t handle snap, loose ball bounces up and is grabbed by o3 who gets hit and fumbles; ball rolls backward 16 yds where o9 falls on it.

A – This is a rushing attempt by the quarterback for zero yards.  The QB gets charged with a fumble.  The Offensive left guard gets one fumble recovery (because he had clear possession) and fumble return yardage of zero yards.  He also gets charged with a fumble.  The halfback (o9) gets credited with a fumble recovery, and no fumble return yardage.  All the backward yardage (-16 yards) is miscellaneous and is not counted for statistical purposes.

 

Q – Result 6: Overthrown safety valve pass is actually a lateral, offensive team doesn’t chase it, d8 recovers 8 yds behind line.

A – This is actually a fumble, charged to the quarterback and a recovery by the defensive corner-back.  The quarterback will be charged with one rushing attempt for a loss to the spot he threw the lateral.  Since the game result does not specify what that is, you would have to make an assumption.  And, it could not be an eight yard loss, because the would not result in a lateral.  Perhaps roll one die and use that number as the loss of yardage to credit to the quarterback on his rushing attempt.

 

Q – Result 9: Pass is blocked, rebounds to QB who is thrown for 11 yd loss. 

A – This is one pass attempt by the quarterback and one reception for the quarterback for an -11 yard completion.  Interestingly, Brett Favre’s first NFL completion was to himself!

 

Q – RP8, Result 2: Receiver makes catch … but spikes ball just before crossing goal line, it dribbles through end zone; Tb

A – Receiver gets credited with receiving yardage to the point of the fumble (in this case, the one yard line).  All other yardage is incidental.

 

Q – Result 6: Pass complete for 16 yds to o7, who attempts lateral to teammate, d11 falls on ball there.

A – Tight End gets credited with a 16 yard reception and a fumble and a fumble lost.    The Safety gets credited with a fumble recovery.

 

Q – RP12, Result 9: FGA. High snap sails past holder & kicker, holder finally recovers for 27 yd loss.

A – This is considered an “Aborted Play” and the holder gets credited with one run for zero yards.  The 27 yards lost is miscellaneous yardage and it not counted statistically.

 

Q – RP13, Result 2: FGA. Short kick is caught by d11 .. he returns it for TD

A – This is counted as a “Field Goal Return” by the d11 for a touchdown.  Statistically, this is considered a “Miscellaneous Return,” not a Punt Return.

 

Q – RP14, Result 4: Returner carries to d41YL … attempts lateral … ball bounces loose and is recovered by d6 at d39YL

A – Returner gets credit for all return yardage up to the spot of the lateral.  He also gets charged with a fumble and the d6 gets credited with a fumble recovery.  All other yardage is miscellaneous and not accounted for statistically.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s