Rules Question . . . Turnovers

Ray,

If a pass is intercepted and the returner of the interception fumbles and loses that fumble is that a turnover for that team as well? Or are turnovers strictly applied to the offensive team at the start of a play where possession changes?

Thanks,
Chris

 

Chris – Once a player has clear possession of the football, fumbles it and it is recovered by the opposing team, it is a turnover.  And, yes, you can have multiple turnovers on the same play.  So, in the example you asked about, the offensive team would be charged with a turnover on the interception, and then the defensive team would be charged with a turnover on the fumble lost on the interception return.

One thought on “Rules Question . . . Turnovers

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s