Scoring Rule – Illegal Tackle

Q –  RP 14:2

Kickoff returner is tackled by someone not on the field – awarded TD – does the entire return yardage get credited to the returner?

 

A – You can never be awarded a touchdown via penalty.  So, if in the opinion of the officials, the returner would have scored if not for the illegal substitution and subsequent tackle, and he is awarded a touchdown, he is credited with all the return yardage . . . and the player coming off the bench would most likely be disqualified for a flagrant and dangerous action.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s