Another Scoring Question . . .

Q – This one throws me regularly. Completed pass, with a penalty that reads Defense Unsportsmanlike Conduct – 15 yards from line. Should that be enforced AFTER the completion?

A – OK, unless this completion was for zero or negative yardage, the penalty is enforced from the end of the play – where the completion ended up.  If, however, the completion had been for, say, -3 yards on a screen pass attempt, then the penalty would be assessed from the original line of scrimmage.

And, keep in mind, if the original pass resulted in a first down, the offensive team would be credited with a passing first down AND a penalty first down because of the Unsportsmanlike Conduct call!

One thought on “Another Scoring Question . . .

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s