Kick-Off Out of Bounds . . .

Mark Zarb asks:  “Hi Ray!!! Just want to double check on the kick off out of bounds penalty. Latest statisticians guide I saw says “no penalty”, wondering if this was changed recently.”

A.  Mark, you are absolutely correct.  Here is the rule:

“When a kickoff goes out of bounds and the ball is awarded to the receiving team, no penalty or penalty yardage is recorded.  The receiving team may elect to take possession of the ball 25 yards from the spot of the kick or at the out-of-bounds spot.  Record an ‘out-of-bounds kickoff’ for the kicker.”

4 thoughts on “Kick-Off Out of Bounds . . .

  1. Thanks Ray, is that rule new OR has it been around since the new kickoff out of bounds rules went into place in 1987?

  2. Until about two years ago, it was considered a penalty with no yardage marked off. Then the NFL decided to consider it an”infraction” but not a penalty. Who knows why!!!

  3. What year did the penalty awarding the ball at the 49 yd line for the receiving team take effect as opposed to a 5 yd penalty?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s