Donald Hall asks the following question: procedural question:
Q: “Ray………….Cowboys are in a 3 wide, Packers counter with a nickle and dial up a blitz…………roll of 25 on Staubach’s card is a 6…..does the up 2 from the 3 wide cancel the original down 2 from the blitz……….is final number a 6 or a 4.”
A: Donald . . . this is really an APBA Game Playing Question, not a scoring or rules concern, and our fearless leader, Greg, might be better suited to answer it . . . but, my understanding is that the two calls cancel each other out, and you would read the final number on Staubach’s card as a “6” . . .
I thought this was how one would apply the playing rules on the question above:
1. Cowboys in 3 wide and they pass so they read 2 lines up. DR 25 for PRN 6 becomes a 4
2. Packers are in Nickle, so the index lowers, but not the lines. So let’s assume Dallas is either in B or C; but in either case, an adjusted PRN of 4 is complete no matter what.
3. Apply the Blitz at the end of the other adjustments. 4 becomes 6. 6 is still complete no matter the index (unless the call was a Long Pass)
4. The PRN actually becomes a 2
That’s how I understand it –
Mark – I believe you are 100% correct!! I should pass on all of these “Game Procedure” queries directly to you from now on!!!!
I think the blitz rule is rather ineffective. It seems a lot more formidable in real life. When it originally came out, the drop was 4 lines. Then they issued a correction. But I rarely use it.